The Pocket Theatre is incorporated as a non-profit 501(C)(3) Corporation. Donations are tax deductible.
A Bad Year for Tomatoes Last Modified: Monday, September 29, 2008
A Bad Year for Tomatoes
by John Patrick
Directed by Elva Hansen
May 2001


From Dramatists Play Service:

Fed up with the pressures and demands of her acting career, the famous Myra Marlowe leases a house in the tiny New England hamlet of Beaver Haven and settles down to write her autobiography. She is successful in turning aside the offers pressed on her by her long-time agent, but dealing with her nosy, omnipresent neighbors is a different matter. In an attempt to shoo them away, and gain some privacy, Myra invents a mad, homicidal sister—who is kept locked in an upstairs room, but who occasionally escapes long enough to scare off uninvited visitors. The ruse works well, at first, but complications result when the local handyman develops an affection for "Sister Sadie" (really Myra in a fright wig) and some of the more officious ladies decide it is their Christian duty to save the poor demented Sadie's soul. In desperation Myra announces that her imaginary sibling has suddenly gone off to Boston—which brings on the sheriff and the suspicion of murder! Needless to say, all is straightened out in the end, but the uproarious doings will keep audiences laughing right up to the final curtain, and then some.

From the Director:

It has been an absolute joy and privilege to have directed this show. To this talented group of actors and a hard working cooperative crew, my heartfelt thanks.

Published by Dramatists Play Service.

Judith Greer as Myra Marlowe

Judith Greer as "Mad Sadie" Marlowe
Role Actor
Myra Marlowe: Judith Greer
"Mad Sadie" Marlowe: Judith Greer
Tom Lamont: Ron Petti
Cora Gump: Laura King
Reba Harper: Leslie Nichols
Willa Mae Wilcox: Jan McKillip
Mr. Piney: Chris Biagini
Sheriff: Tom Clark
Our Crew
Producer: Elva Hansen and
Mark Britton
Director: Elva Hansen
Asst. Dir./Stage Manager: Robert L. Simpson
Set Design: Mark Britton
Set Construction: Mark Britton,
Ray Johnson,
Jim Cunningham,
,Bill Tanzyus,
David Campbell, and
Chris Biagini
Cover Illustrator: Lisa Wood
Lights: Ray Johnson and
Dave McKillip
Sound: Dave McKillip and
John Citron
Props: Kristi Clark and cast
Costumes: Linda Rickel and cast
Publicity: John Citron
Office: Jean Russell and her helpers
Program Printing: Five Star Printing
Program Design: Lisa Wood
Webmaster: Tom Clark and
John Lukas
Ron Petti as Tom Lamont Laura King as Cora Gump Leslie Nichols as Reba Harper
Jan McKillip as Willa Mae Wilcox OUR THANKS TO:
The Sentinel-Record
Hot Springs Village Voice
KVRE 92.9 FM Hot Springs Village Nostalgia Radio
Marianne Tinnin
Lenora Zarlenga
The Jackson House Hot Springs
Nearly New Hot Springs
Stageworks Little Rock
Woodlands Auditorium Hot Springs Village
Chris Biagini as Mr. Piney
Tom Clark as The Sheriff
Our Cast
Director Elva Hansen