The Pocket Theatre is incorporated as a non-profit 501(C)(3) Corporation. Donations are tax deductible.
The Boys Next Door Last Modified: Saturday, October 18, 2008
The Boys Next Door
by Tom Griffin
Directed by Jan McKillip
April, 1998


From Dramatists Play Service:

The place is a communal residence in a New England city, where four mentally handicapped men live under the supervision of an earnest, but increasingly "burned out" young social worker named Jack. Norman, who works in a doughnut shop and is unable to resist the lure of the sweet pastries, takes great pride in the huge bundle of keys that dangles from his waist; Lucien P. Smith has the mind of a five-year-old but imagines that he is able to read and comprehend the weighty books he lugs about; Arnold, the ringleader of the group, is a hyperactive, compulsive chatterer, who suffers from deep-seated insecurities and a persecution complex; while Barry, a brilliant schizophrenic who is devastated by the unfeeling rejection of his brutal father, fantasizes that he is a golf pro. Mingled with scenes from the daily lives of these four, where "little things" sometimes become momentous (and often very funny), are moments of great poignancy when, with touching effectiveness, we are reminded that the handicapped, like the rest of us, want only to love and laugh and find some meaning and purpose in the brief time that they, like their more fortunate brothers, are allotted on this earth.

"The Boys Next Door is one of the most unusual…and one of the most rewarding plays in town." —BackStage.

"Griffin's play hits squarely on the truth of life with its constant interplays and shadings of triumphs and tears." —NY Daily News.

"The Boys Next Door moves the audience to an awareness of how many things in everyday life we take for granted…" —NY Times.

Published by Dramatists Play Service.

Cast members, left to right:
Rita McPhearson as Sheila
Scott Breshears as Barry
Terry Dickinson as Norman
David Halbert as Jack
Mike Thomas as Arnold
Ronald Johnson as Lucien

Role Actor
Arnold: Mike Thomas
Lucien: Ronald Johnson
Norman: Terry Dickenson
Barry: Scott Breshears
Jack: David Halbert
Sheila: Rita McPhearson
Mr. Klemper: Jerry Longinotti
Mrs. Fremus/Clara: Suzi Dennis and
Angela Spradley
Mrs. Warren: Marjorie Dickinson
Mr. Hedges: Ray Johnson
Mr. Corbin: Mark Britton
Senator Clark: Don Russell
Our Crew
Director: Jan McKillip
Asst. Director/Stage Manager: Jean Russell
Lights and Sound: Dave McKillip
Jan McKillip
Set and Construction Crew: Jan McKillip
Bill Tanzyus
Mark Britton
Robert Carpenter
Jim Dodd
Ray Johnson
Art Rozema
Jim Evans
Rita McPhearson
Tiffany Younts
Set Design: Jan McKillip
Props: Don Russell
Carol Schalp
Jim Carr
Costumes: Kay Campbell
Marla Young
Jody Byers
Box Office: Elva Hansen
Suzi Dennis
Della Mahaffey
Lights/Sound: Walter Dodson
Art Display: Students of Julie Williams:
"It's Art"
Programs: William G. and Barbara White
Publicity: Hank Deutsch
Webmaster: John Lukas

The Jackson House Hot Springs
Fran Kasimeier
Mr. and Mrs. Bill Nabors
Kathleen Fribus
Tommy's Best Brands Plus Hot Springs
Mr. Tucker at Piggly Wiggly

Our sincere apology to all those whom we inadvertantly omitted.